Did that car you thought was the greatest thing on earth turn out to be anything but? Don’t fear, that is why there is a Tennessee lemon law to protect the consumer from being rooked and becoming stuck with a defective vehicle. That is also why the professionals at Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center are willing and able to help you file a suit to recover your money. There are some things you need to know about the lemon law in Tennessee first, however. Read on below for a few of those facts.
A Lemon Falls into What Category?
According to the Tennessee lemon law, your vehicle must fall into one of these categories to qualify for lemon status.
* Leased or sold to you after 1/1/1987
* Has serious problems that affects the resale value of the car or makes the vehicle unsafe to use
* Cannot be repaired after three different attempts to fix the problem or you are unable to use the car for over 30 days during the warranty period.
How and When Should You File a Lemon Claim?
First you have to make sure that you have followed all the requirements above to try and fix the issue, this involves making sure that the company that made the car has ample time and opportunity to fix the problem and make it right. Once you send them a certified letter stating that your car is a lemon, they have 10 days to repair the damage, if not then you need to file for lemon status.
Should You Hire an Attorney?
It’s always a good idea to hire a reputable attorney when filing under the Tennessee lemon law. An attorney knows the law in and out and can explain things, you couldn’t hope to understand.
For more information, contact Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center® for help.