Questions That Clients Ask A DUI Attorney In Cincinnati, OH Frequently

In Ohio, drivers must follow all traffic laws including laws pertaining to the choice to drive while intoxicated. DUI traffic violations could lead to felony charges based on the total number of convictions present on the driver’s record. The following are questions that clients ask a DUI Attorney in Cincinnati OH frequently.

What are the Penalties for a First Offense?

The penalties for the first offense is a jail sentence between three days and six months. They’ll pay a fine between $250 and $1,000. Their driver’s license is suspended for a period between six months and three years.

What are the Penalties for a Second Offense?

The penalties for the second offense is a jail sentence between ten days and one year. They’ll pay a fine between $350 and $1,500. Their driver’s license is suspended for a period of one to five years.

What are the Penalties for a Third Offense?

The penalties for the third offense is a jail sentence between thirty days and one year. They’ll pay a fine between $350 and $1,500. Their driver’s license is suspended between one and ten years. They are also required to pay for the installation of an ignition interlocking device in their vehicle.

What are the Penalties for a Fourth Offense?

The fourth offense is classified as a felony criminal charge. The penalties for this offense is a jail sentence between sixty days and one year. They’ll pay a fine that is between $800 and $10,000. The driver’s license suspension begins with three years. However, the court may revoke their license permanently. They are also required to pay for an ignition interlocking device.

How Far Back Does the Court’s Search Go?

Typically, the court looks for records that range up to six years prior to the current charge. Any conviction that occurred six years before the new charge isn’t included in the total number of convictions.

What Does Implied Consent Mean?

Implied consent is essentially the consent to chemical testing based on the choice to drive while intoxicated. This law enables officers to acquire blood-alcohol content readings without the individual’s consent.

In Ohio, drivers incur criminal charges if they choose to drive while they are intoxicated. This charge could lead to a conviction and hefty penalties. Drivers who are accused of this infraction contact a DUI Attorney in Cincinnati OH by visiting Engelandmartin.com today.

Like Engel & Martin LLC on Facebook for more news & updates!

Be the first to like.

Be Sociable, Share!